Village of Youngstown’s vibrant history

Youngstown's oldest resident Laura Helsby Adams sat with her great grandchildren in the Powell Pumpkin float at the Village of Youngstown’s centennial celebration July 19 - 21. 700 people registered for the weekend’s festivities but organizers estimate close to 1000 people showed up.
Avatar
Written by Submitted

In the winter of 1912 – 13, construction had begun on many business establishments and homes in Youngstown.
By the mid 1920s, the population had grown to over 700.
Exceptionally dry years from 1929 to 1937 resulted in the closure of most businesses in town, as farmers moved to ‘greener pastures’. The population shrank to 100, and the town became a village.
The Provincial Government, seeing the dire straits of the east central portion of the prairies, amalgamated all the municipalities in a fifty mile radius of Youngstown under the Special Areas Act.  The maintenance shops for the huge new jurisdiction were established just Northeast of the village. The P.F.R.A. made its headquarters in Youngstown from 1946 – 1954 as it worked on the Red Deer River Diversion Program.The Pleasant View Home employed many workers and the community enjoyed population resurgence as people moved to Youngstown for employment. The population remained at over 300 until recent years.  Various factors have caused the village population to decline once more and the 2011 census showed an official population of 178.
Yet, Youngstown has a lot to offer with its freedom, clean air, good water, reliable roads, school and churches, recreation facilities and friendly citizens.  Youngstown remains a place of opportunity and hope.

About the author

Avatar

Submitted

Subscribe

* indicates required