UCP wins majority government in Alberta’s Provincial election 

ECA Review
Written by ECA Review

Although the United Conservative Party (UCP) only won the popular vote by approximately eight per cent the UCP dominated in the Drumheller-Stettler riding.

The UCP won with 926,918 votes, while the New Democrat Party (NDP) got 776,188 votes. The UCP dominated rural communities, and the NDP won the popular vote in Edmonton, Banff-Kananaskis, and parts of Calgary.

In the Drumheller-Stettler riding, UCP candidate Nathan Horner was elected with 15,274 votes. Juliet Franklin with the NDP got 2,684 votes, Carolina Evers with the The Solidarity Movement of Alberta (SM) got 104 votes, Shannon Packham with the Independence Party of Alberta (TIP) got 383 votes and Hanna Vein  Wildrose Loyalty Coalition (WLC) got 149 votes.

In the Camrose riding, UCP candidate Jackie Lovely was elected with 12,900 votes.

Richard Bruneau with the NDP got 5,582 votes, Pamela Henson with the WLC got 206 votes and Bob Blayone as an Independent candidate (IND) got 1,740 votes.
In the Lacombe-Ponoka riding, UCP candidate Jennifer Johnson was elected with 14,218 votes.

Dave Dale with the NDP got 4,948 votes, Myles Chykerda with Alberta Party (AP) got 1,263 votes, Taylor Lowery with the The Green Party of Alberta (GPA) got 267 votes, Nathan Leslie with SM got 79 votes and Daniel Jefferies with the WLC got 431 votes.

In the Vermilion-Lloydminister-Wainwright riding, UCP candidate Garth Rowswel was elected with 13,071 votes. Dawn Flaata with the NDP got 3,097 votes, Darrell Dunn with the AP got 475 votes, Tigra-Lee Campbell with the GPA got 146 votes, Danny Hozack with the WLC got 459 votes and Matthew Powell as an Independent (IND) got 354 votes.

All numbers are unofficial until Elections Alberta declares them official.

Jessica Campbell
ECA Review

About the author

ECA Review

Our newspaper is only as good as its contributors and we thank each one who submits stories, photos and opinions. If you have a news item, photos or opinion to share please submit it to office@ECAreview.com.