Stettler District 4-H: Strong sale and outstanding local support for 4-H

Rowan Hallett of the Byemoor Juniors 4-H club keeps his attention directed towards the judge during the Stettler District 4-H Show and Sale held at the Stettler Agriplex on May 21, 2024. ECA Review/C.Bowman
Written by User Submitted

The Stettler District 4-H Achievement Days were held May 20 – 21 at the Stettler Agriplex with clubs from Byemoor, Big Knife, Big Valley and Erskine.

Female day was May 20 and started with judging classes where all members participated in written reasons on a class of market animals and oral reasons on yearling heifers.

Following a pizza lunch provided by Vison Credit Union, the day of showing started with our 29 cleaver kids, which are 6 – 8 yr. olds.

Cleaver kids take a baby calf to show and with the help of some older members, did an outstanding job!

The female show started at 1:30 with yearling heifer classes followed by 2 yr. old pair, 3 yr. old pair and herd classes. Mike Panasiuk was the judge. The day wrapped up with Awards in the ring.

May 21 started off with pancake breakfast sponsored by Stettler Ag Center.

Steer day saw 68 members participating in grooming, showmanship and confirmation classes.

Our judges for the day were Dillion Fuller for grooming, Tyler Bullick for confirmation and Justine Bullick for Showmanship.

After the banquet, all members gathered in the ring for steer day awards.

The sale started with a charity auction for the Walstrom family.

Sixty-seven head of top quality finished steers ranging from 1100-1700 lbs. brought an average of $4.27.

We had a strong sale with outstanding local support.

Our awards were presented as follows:

Grand Champion Market Steer, SAM – Tulsa Smith

Reserve Champion Market Steer, Country Junction Feeds/Wetaskiwin Co- op – Luke Henderson

Byemoor Club Champion, Solick Seeds – Tulsa Smith

Big Knife Club Champion, Skocdopole Cattle Co., Owen Walgenbach

Big Valley Club Champion, Stettler Vet Clinic, Rilynn Stewart

Erskine Club Champion, Pin Tail Environmental – Luke Henderson

Byemoor Reserve Club Champion, Bar EL Farms – Cole Charbonneau

Big Knife Reserve Club Champion, Metalex Metal Buildings – Corbyn Turre

Big Valley Reserve Club Champion, BLJ Farms – Connor McNeil

Erskine Reserve Club Champion, Maverick Large Animal Vet – Brooklynn Smith

Grand Champion Yearling Heifer, Anderson Bred Heifers – Cheyanne Jacobson

Reserve Champion Yearling Heifer, C4 Bobcat & Mulching – Addison Charbonneau

Grand Champion Female, Fred & Denise Reinbold & Families – Cheyanne Jacobson yearling

Reserve Champion Female, GT Hydraulic & Bearing – Addison Charbonneau – 2 Year Old

Champion 2 Year Old Female, Paintearth Gas Co- op – Addison Charbonneau

Res 2 Year Old Female, Blue Acre Farms – Cheyanne Jacobson

Champion 3 Year Old Female, Trochu Motors – Rylee Charbonneau

Res 3 Year Old Female, Martin Cattle Services – Alerie Sorensen

Grand Champion Herd: In Memory of Doug Shuckburgh – Rylee Charbonneau

Reserve Champion Herd, Action Plumbing – Aryann Haustein

Grand Champion Carcass Steer, RBC Royal Bank of Canada – Rilynn Stewart

Reserve Champion Carcass Steer, Haustein Farms – Brielle Sorensen

Best Performance Carcass Steer, Piro Red Angus – Rilynn Stewart

Overall Rate of Gain, Jim & Maureen Wasdal – Luke Henderson 4.69

Reserve Overall Rate of Gain, G3 – Kelton Fahey 4.42

Senior Showmanship, Black Widow Industries – Keagan Jacobson

Reserve Senior Showmanship, Bounty Onsite – Addison Charbonneau

Intermediate Showmanship, Vortex – Rylee Charbonneau

Reserve Intermediate Showmanship, Yates Farms – Hayley Walgenbach

Junior Showmanship, Stettler Building Supplies, Tulsa Smith

Reserve Junior Showmanship, CIBC Bank – Cole Charbonneau

Senior Team Grooming, Auto Trust – Cheyanne Jacobson, Keagan Jacobson

Reserve Senior Team Grooming, Wright Builders – Rilynn Stewart, Sam McNeil

Intermediate Team Grooming, Stettler OK Tire – Hayley Walgenbach, Karter Carstairs

Reserve Intermediate Team Grooming, RWA Accountants – Weston Fahey, Connor McNeill

Junior Team Grooming, Wells Furniture – Tulsa Smith, Brielle Sorenson

Reserve Junior Team Grooming, LM Waste Management – Corbyn Turre, Owen Walgenbach

Senior Judging, NorthStar Trucking – Addison Charbonneau

Reserve Senior Judging, Sutton Septic Service – Keagan Jacobson

Intermediate Judging, Fahey Cattle Co. – Ethan McPhee

Reserve Intermediate Judging, GFL – Luke Henderson, Blake Neilson

Junior Judging, Royal LePage – Tulsa Smith

Reserve Junior Judging, Deans Machine – Cole Charbonneau

Senior Best Kept Records, Ag Star- Nozzle Ninja – Charlee Derr

Reserve Senior Records, JT Autobody – Keagan Jacobson

Intermediate Best Kept Records, Castor OK Tire – Alerie Sorenson

Reserve Intermediate Records, Flaretech – Hayley Walgenbach

Junior Best Kept Records, Rally Rentals – Brielle Sorenson

Reserve Junior Records, Ashbacher Angus, Tulsa Smith

Pen of Five, Connie Haustein, Byemoor Club

Stall Display, ID Apparel – Byemoor Club

Junior Achiever Award, Nutrien Ag Solutions – Nash Sorenson

Intermediate Award of Excellence, County of Stettler – Alerie Sorenson

Senior Top Hand Award, TD Canada Bank – Aryann Haustein

Most Dedicated Club Awards, Wells Furniture, Big Knife – Charlee Derr, Big Valley – Zane Bartley, Erskine – Brooklyn Smith, Byemoor – Jayda Stirling.

About the author

User Submitted