Stettler CARA Curling bonspiel

Winning the CARA Curling Bonspiel for the second year in a row were, from the left, Zach McCord, Jaydon Haustein, Doug MacPherson, Chance Morbeck and Caleb Couch. ECA Review/ Submitted
Written by Submitted

Winning the CARA Curling Bonspiel for the second year in a row were, from the left, Zach McCord, Jaydon Haustein, Doug MacPherson, Chance Morbeck and Caleb Couch. ECA Review/ Submitted

Sixteen teams participated in the annual Central Alberta Regional Athletics (CARA) curling bonspiel in Stettler was held on Thurs. Feb. 20.

This is the annual curling bonspiel for Grade 6-9 students.

Teams were from every school in Clearview School Division including Erskine, Donalda, Byemoor, Big Valley, Castor, Coronation, Stettler and Brownfield plus Theresetta Catholic School and Christ King Catholic Schools.

Each team was guaranteed three games to test out their skills.

Then the top two teams from each of four pools entered the quarter-finals.

Four teams went into the semis and then gold and bronze medal games.

Team Morbeck from Erskine went undefeated in their six games to have a repeat performance as CARA curling champions.

Morbeck played Team Butterfield (skipped by C. Norman) from Donalda in the gold medal game.

Bronze was won by Team Johnson of Gus Wetter (Castor) over the P. Slemp team from Theresetta.

In 20 years of the bonspiel, Erskine has won seven times, Coronation five times, Big Valley three times, Stettler twice, Gus Wetter twice and Byemoor once.



About the author