School bus safety poster contest prizes awarded

Erskine’s Grade 3 class show off their posters for the camera, from the left, back row: Ainsley Lyle, Tristan Bergen, Kortney Armstrong, Luke Henderson, Rowan Anderson, Hudson Hetchler, Kate Chapman and Maysa Hankins. Middle row: Mrs. Lachowsky, Emma Dixon, Grady Lohr, Julia Ackerman, Mia Baskey and Jennifer Schmucki. Front row: Lily Bullick, Nia Haustein, Kealen Regehr and Ruby Leschert. ECA Review/Submitted

Highlighting the importance of school bus safety, the Grade 3 class at Erskine School worked together to participate in a poster contest, providing 10 entries for consideration.

The provincial contest was sponsored by the Alberta Student Transportation Advisory Council (ASTAC) to promote School Bus Safety Week from October 20 – 26, 2019 for students in Kindergarten to Grade 6.

The theme for this year’s poster was “Ready to Ride”.

Director of Transportation, Maryann Wingie, and Transportation Coordinator, Lynne Robson, visited Erskine School’s Grade 3 class on Thurs. Oct. 24 and brought them treats to celebrate their participation in School Bus Safety Week.

“We talked to the students about the rules on the bus and asked questions about their knowledge on school bus safety.

“We were very impressed with the students for knowing how to stay safe in and around the school bus,” shared Wingie.

The 10 entries submitted by Erskine students were judged by Clearview’s transportation department, including mechanics and some bus drivers.

Director of Transportation, Maryann Wingie presented Kate Chapman, one of the Erskine Grade 3 students, a $25 Walmart gift card for her winning poster. ECA Review/Submitted

Kate Chapman, one of the Grade 3 students, won a $25 Walmart gift card for her poster. All entries from Clearview students will be submitted to the provincial portion of the contest.

The ASTAC provincial contest winners from Kindergarten to Grade 6 whose poster best illustrates the theme “Ready to Ride” will receive a $25 gift card, a framed original of their poster along with a cheque for $100 for their classroom and an engraved plaque.

The committee may choose to select posters for an honourable mention and those contestants will be selected to receive a $25 gift card.

Provincial winners will be announced in December.



About the author


ECA Review Publisher


* indicates required