Prairie Land holds organizational meeting, determines who will join which committees and boards

Written by ECA Review

The Prairie Land Public School Division trustees assembled on Tues. Sept. 22 for the Board annual organizational meeting.

Trustees accepted specific roles and responsibilities for the upcoming school year as follows.

Holle Smith, Trustee of Berry Creek was re-elected as board chair with Veteran Trustee Martha Tkach re-elected as vice chair.

Delia Trustee Shandele Battle, Smith and Tkach are on the negotiating committee while Hanna Trustee Lindsay Bond, Morrin Trustee Gwen Hampton and Tkach are on the discipline committee.

The scholarship committee is composed of Trustee Bond, Altario/Consort Trustee Barry Davis and Hanna Rural/Youngstown Trustee Scott MacPherson.

The executive committee is made up of Shauna Davies, Smith and Tkach while the Teacher Board Advisory Committee (TBAC) has Battle and Smith.

Trustee MacPherson sits on the health and wellness committee while Trustee Bond is on the Indigenous Committee.

Alberta School Boards Association Zone 5 representative is Smith with MacPherson as alternate.

Public School Boards Association of Alberta representative is Hampton with Davis as alternate.

Tkach is on the Teachers Employer Bargaining Association (TEBA).

Battle claimed Rural Caucus Committee with Davies as alternate.

Lastly, the audit committee is composed of Davis, Hampton and Tkach.

It was determined board meetings will be held on either the third or fourth Tuesday of each month at 9:00 a.m. at Prairie Land central office for this year.

Return to sports 

Superintendent Cam McKeage presented the return to sport and athletics handbook for Prairie Land Public School Division which has been shared with all staff.

Schools throughout Prairie Land have begun practices and have participated in volleyball, football and baseball competitions.

Sports and activity in general are integral in the development of the whole child/student.



About the author

ECA Review

Our newspaper is only as good as its contributors and we thank each one who submits stories, photos and opinions. If you have a news item, photos or opinion to share please submit it to