Prairie Land athletes aiming high, scoring higher

Prairie Land Penguins girls rugby team, Tier II Girls High School Provincial Rugby Champions. Back row: Cori Halter, Sarah Creasy, Amanda Creasy, Breanna Storch, Sydney Mcmillin, Sarah Palmer and Ta’merra Hart. Front row: Koaye Hickle, Avery Smyth, Savanah Hart, Madison Pitman, Susie Lenfesty and Coach Shaun Fielding. Missing are squad members Dante Kern, Breanne Bossert, Sierra Raugust, Ainsely Nelson, Sarah MacPherson, Katie MacPherson, Katie Kurbis, Darcee Hall and Mckenzie Olmstead. ECA Review/Submitted

Each year we are privileged to watch our student-athletes excel and compete in a wide variety of sports.

Sometimes individuals or teams make it to zones or provincials and we are honoured they represent Prairie Land Regional Division (PLRD).

It is not always about the banners hanging in a school’s gymnasium, it is about the heart and soul of the athlete, their determination and perseverance; the way a team comes together on the court, the lessons learned and the battles fought.

There are also hundreds of students who take part in community sports such as dance, hockey, baseball, soccer, high school rodeo.

The list is endless and whether it is for recreation or competitive, PLRD is very proud of all of our athletes.


This year the JC Charyk Hanna Hawks took home the provincial title for Six-Man High School football.

The team was made up of Tyler Hutton (1), Devan Boos (7), Brenden McKillop (11), Bobby Thandi (13), Jock Hein(17), Riley Hoffman (22), Aiden Hickle (27), Brayden Hann (31), Carter Moench (32), Zach Voltner (33), Liam McKeage (34), Carter Schnurer (50), Devin Buchwitz (6), Hardy Thandi (62), Randy Lizotte (63), Carter Boehlke (64), Brandon Galster (75), Robby Thandi (77), and Sam Lizotte (84). Coaching Staff: Cam McKeage, Rick Haines, Len Judson, Clint Mohl, Joe Schnurer.

Kendal Pierson of Berry Creek Community School and her Alberta High School Rodeo Association banners. ECA Review/Submitted


Kendal Pierson of Berry Creek Community School shows off her Alberta High School Rodeo Association banners from the 2018 season.

Pierson won the Girl’s Provincial Hi-Point Junior Champion as well as the Provincial Team Roping Junior Champion (Header) with partner Cole Brain from Bellis, Alta.

Pierson is also the Canadian Junior High School Girls’ Breakaway Champion, Goat Tying Champion and All Around Champion.

There are many students across the division who participate in the junior and senior division of AHSRA.


After bringing home the banner for the South Central Zones for senior high in Rugby 7s, the Prairie Land Penguins girls rugby team became the Tier II Girls High School Provincial Rugby Champions.


Delia students Stefanie Nielsen and Belle Stanger are provincial champions for the Junior High Girls Division 2 in Beach Volleyball.

Track and Field

Grade 11 student Ta’merra Hart from J.C.Charyk Hanna School placed second in the 100m at the track and field zones.

Hart placed eighth at Provincials.


The Youngstown Senior High Boys Basketball Team placed second in their league playdowns in the Northeast Sr. High Basketball League.

The team consists of Dixon Tattrie, Spencer MacMillan, Spencer Hogan, Colton Garlock, Scotland Caron, Jace Powell, Corbin MacMillan, Rhett Tattrie, John Armstrong (head coach) and William Proudfoot (Assistant Coach).


J.C.Charyk student, Hailey Parent, Grade 5, has had a great first year in archery.

At the NASP (National Archery in the Schools Program) Provincials, she scored 256 placing her third for both Elementary Girls and Grade 5 Girls.

At Nationals, Parent shot a 258 in the bulls-eye and 251 in the 3D shoot giving her a third place for Elementary girls and third place for Grade 5 girls in both events.

Jessica Vert from Altario School placed first at the NASP Provincials in the Grade 6 Girls category with a score of 278/300.

This is Vert’s fourth championship banner; her tally is now three provincial titles and one national championship.

Kahl Neufeld from Berry Creek Community School placed first in the Grade 7 Boys division at the NASP Provincials.



About the author


ECA Review Publisher


* indicates required