Morrin History Book Committee gains over $18,000 in grant money

The Morrin and District Agricultural Society, the overarching group of the Morrin History Book II Committee, was awarded $18,400 for covering publishing costs of the second edition. The society ordered 700 copies but received 680 due to mechanical printing problems. They started collecting stories and working on the book on Nov. 2, 2016. The entire process took 3 1/2 years. The committee consists of 10 community members with many more people helping procure information, write stories and proofread. Blooming Prairie II History Book is now available for sale. From the left: Drumheller-Stettler MLA Nate Horner, Morrin Ag Society president Sheldon Harvey, History book secretary Diana Wolf, History book director Melanie Nelson, History book director Dave Trentham and History book secretary Shirley Bremer.

ECA Review/T.Huxley

About the author

Terri Huxley

Terri Huxley

Terri grew up on a grain farm near Drumheller, Alberta with an eye for the beautiful and uncharted. Living in such a unique and diverse area has helped her become the photographer and reporter she is today.

Coming from the East Central region getting this newspaper on her dinner table growing up, it helped her understand the community she now serves.

In May 2019, Terri was awarded Alberta Weekly Newspaper Association (AWNA) Canada's Energy Citizens Photographic Awards Sports Action – First Place as well as first for the same sports action image nationally with the Canadian Community Newspaper Association (CCNA). Fast forward to 2020, she has won second in the same category for the AWNA.


* indicates required