Irma selects latest councillor

One vacancy was made available after Coun. Vance Fuder stepped down from his duties for personal reasons.

On. Jan. 28, the by-election was held at the New Horizons Centre where three people including Diane Boudreau, Mervin Firkus and Robert Parkins were on the ballot.

With 84 votes, 75 per cent of the vote, Firkus was selected as the new councillor.

There were 112 votes cast.

Another councillor, Dennis Fuder resigned this past month so the village will be holding another byelection pending the number of nominations received by Feb. 25.

If sufficient nominations are received, the election will be held on April 7.


Terri Huxley

ECA Review

About the author

Terri Huxley

Terri grew up on a grain farm near Drumheller, Alberta with an eye for the beautiful and uncharted. Living in such a unique and diverse area has helped her become the photographer and reporter she is today.

Coming from the East Central region getting this newspaper on her dinner table growing up, it helped her understand the community she now serves.

In May 2019, Terri was awarded Alberta Weekly Newspaper Association (AWNA) Canada's Energy Citizens Photographic Awards Sports Action – First Place as well as first for the same sports action image nationally with the Canadian Community Newspaper Association (CCNA). Fast forward to 2020, she has won second in the same category for the AWNA.