Highway 21 Corridor Crime Watch Association hosts meeting

Spare ECA LOGO - Online content
Written by Submitted

The Hwy 21 Corridor Crime Watch Association had an active 2019 fall.

On Oct. 26, 2019 an open house was hosted in Lousana, Alta. with about 50 attendees being welcomed by President Ray Miller.

The guest speaker was Devin Dreeshen, MLA Innisfail-Sylvan Lake, who pointed out, “We are trying to rehabilitate the unrehabilitated,” as 80 per cent of crime is done by 20 per cent of the people.

Red Deer County Peace Officers, Stephan Poburan and Brad Olsen gave a presentation, ”Crime Prevention Through Environmental Design” (CPTED).

The county has trained officers that will come to rural land/homeowners residences to perform CPTED assessments free of charge and advise changes that make homes safer and less inviting to the thief.

The association held the Annual Meeting at the Elnora Drop In Centre on Nov. 30, 2019 over 20 people from Delburne, Lousana, Elnora and Trochu in attendance.

Grant Kihn chaired the meeting. The election of officers is as follows: Chairperson Grant Kihn, Vice Chairman Rob Aellen, Treasurer Dawn McKenzie and Secretary Mat Corns.

Directors are Sonja Stamp, Mel Craig, Diane Lewis, Darlene Dushanek, Marjorie Faulkner, Peter Wagstaff, Kerrilyn Mose, Allan Cunningham and Jim Cunningham.

There is a Facebook page in the works and more Crime Watch signs to be erected.

New members are welcome and existing members input is greatly appreciated.

Join forces to “Protect Yourself, Protect Your Community”.

Memberships can be applied for at HWY 21 Corridor Crime Watch Association, Box 341, Delburne, Alta. T0M 0V0.



About the author