Farmers Bonspiel draws large numbers

A full six sheets of ice were occupied by avid curlers who attended the Hanna Farmers Bonspiel on Thurs. Jan. 17. The bonspiel ran Jan. 16 – 19. ECA Review/R. Baumbach

The Hanna Farmers Bonspiel has become a staple within the community after being held for approximately 36 years.

Curlers from all over attended including Hanna, Youngstown, Delia, Oyen and Byemoor.

The schedule ran from Wed. Jan. 15 – 19, 2019 as 24 teams entered the bonspiel.

The Jones rink defeated Ernie Buchfink’s team 6 – 1.

The Jones rink from Byemoor went undefeated in the bonspiel. The Buchfink rink conceded after the sixth end.

Winners of the B Event included Lee Quaschnick (skip), Derek Christensen (3rd), Clayton Quaschnick (2nd) and Don Quaschnick (lead).

The team played against the Ken Boulder rink, ultimately winning 8 – 4.

Winners of C event included Scott Viste (lead), Andy Andrus (2nd), Justin Griffith (3rd) and Trevor Kingcott (skip) where they won 7 – 4 in their final game against the Keith McDonald team.

Overall, they won five games and lost one.

Winners of the D1 event were Brad Richardson (skip), Jason Reed (3rd), James Madge (2nd), and Keenan Smith (lead) where they played against the Wes Karg rink. The team won 8 – 6.

Winners of the D2 event included Mindy Gutshe (skip), Mike Christensen (3rd), Randy Moench (2nd) and Jeff Clow (lead). They won 8 – 4 after competing against the Duane Davidson rink.

Overall, they won two games and lost two.


Terri Huxley and Eileen Morrill

ECA Review

About the author


ECA Review Publisher


* indicates required