Donalda teacher selected as 2018 Edwin Parr Award nominee

Clearview Board of Trustees has selected first year teacher, Brandon Brown for the 2018 Alberta School Board Association (ASBA) Zone 4 Edwin Parr Teacher Award.
Brandon, who is in his first year teaching at Donalda School, appeared before the trustees with Donalda Principal Mark Seimens during the Mar. 1 board meeting.
In the letter accompanying the nomination, Principal Siemens wrote, “I have had the privilege of working extensively with Brandon and I can accurately speak of three of his traits that have laid the foundation for a successful first year of teaching: his impeccable work ethic, his strong interpersonal skills, and his passion for learning and improving.”
“His science classes are awesome.” Siemens added.
Brandon grew up in the Brownfield area and has strong Clearview roots, attending both Brownfield and Coronation Schools.
He went on to the University of Alberta, Augustana Campus earning a Bachelor in Science with Distinction (Major in Biology, minor in Physical Education) and a Bachelor in Education with a major in Secondary Education.
Openly excited to be nominated, Brandon shared the main reasons he loves teaching.
“You gotta love the kids.” Brandon said, going on to explain how eager he is to find out what each student is interested in and where they are going.
After discovering a love for science in Grade 10, Brandon says he developed a determination to make sure everyone thinks science is as ‘cool’ as he does.
According to Brandon, he has his dream job, teaching his passions, Science and Physical Education.
He believes teachers play a big role in lives and he wants to make a difference for good in the lives of the children he works with.
Brandon said, “I love working at Donalda School, and am very proud to be a rural educator.”
When asked what he envisions in his future, Brandon declared “I’m a small town guy. I could never see myself in the city. I want to stay in small schools.”
At the end of the interview, Board Chair Ken Checkel remarked, “Brandon is the kind of teacher we would like our kids and grandkids to have.”
Trustees went in-camera to choose a nominee from other first year candidates around the division.
The Edwin Parr Award recognizes outstanding work by first year teachers in Alberta.
Established in 1964, it has always represented quality teaching and exemplary work.
The ASBA Zone four nominees will be celebrated at a banquet on May 28, 2018 in Innisfail where the Zone 4 winner will be announced.

Linda Stillinger,
ECA Review

About the author


ECA Review Publisher


* indicates required