Communities in Bloom Alberta reveals 2019 winners

Stettler participated in this year’s competition. Seen here, Stettler hosted two international judges for the Communities in Bloom awards including International judge Andrea Bocsi of Hungary and Lorna McIlroy of Grand Prairie as the Canadian judge. They toured the town, visiting random sites like the Stettler Museum, guided by various town officials and staff. ECA Review/T.Huxley

Provost claimed a five-bloom rating and category winner for the Communities in Bloom (CiB) Competition.

Following suit was Coronation who also took home a five-bloom rating in the Population 501 to 2,000 Competitive category.

These ratings acknowledge the contribution of municipal council and departments, local businesses, and volunteers in making their communities a more beautiful place to live.

The winners of this year’s program are invited to compete at the national level next year.

For the Friends – Evaluated Non-Competitive category, it included the Village of Clive, Village of Glenwood, Town of Bon Accord, Communities of Barrhead, Town of Eckville, Town of Swan Hills, and Town of Calmar.

This category also included the Town of Wainwright, Town of Whitecourt, Village of Veteran, Town of Cardston, Town of Strathmore, Hamlet of Woking, and Town of Taber.

Communities in Bloom (CiB) Alberta, along with the Alberta Recreation and Parks Association, celebrated CiB’s 2019 participating communities at its Fall Workshop and Provincial Awards Luncheon held in Lacombe on Sat., Sept. 21, 2019.

Earlier this summer, volunteer judges toured participating Alberta communities to evaluate them on criteria like tidiness, environmental action, heritage conservation, urban forestry, landscape, and floral displays.

For the Population 2,001 to 6,000 Competitive category, the Town of Sundre got five Blooms and was called category winner.

For Population 6,001 to 15,000 Competitive, the Town of Devon won 4 Blooms and category winner.

In Novice – Evaluated Non-Competitive, the Town of Slave Lake, Town of Raymond, Village of Morrin and Town of Thorsby entered.



About the author


ECA Review Publisher


Your Cart


* indicates required