Big Valley residents elect two councillors

Written by Stu Salkeld

The Village of Big Valley residents went to the polls Feb. 20 in a by-election to select two councillors.

In a phone call Feb. 21, Village Chief Administrative Officer (CAO) and returning officer Colleen Mayne stated there were four candidates on the ballot with the two vacant seats to be filled by Chantele Janke (93 votes) and Timmothy Field (78).

Also on the ballot were third place finisher Elaine McDonald (48) and Harry Nibourg (34).

Two council seats were vacated in Nov., 2023 when Mayor Clark German and Coun. Amber Hoogenberg resigned with Coun. Dan Houle remaining on council.

An official administrator (OA) was assigned by the provincial government to act as council until the by-election because the village had no quorum.

The CAO noted that the OA will remain signing authority until the new councillors are sworn in, which is scheduled to be done at the March regular council meeting.

Committee assignments will also be handed out that night plus the regular council meeting agenda will be discussed.

The CAO added that the March council agenda is also scheduled to include the 2024 budget.

Stu Salkeld
Local Journalism Initiative reporter
ECA Review

About the author

Stu Salkeld

Stu Salkeld, who has upwards of 28 years of experience in the Alberta community newspaper industry, is now covering councils and other news in the Stettler region and has experience working in the area as well.

He has joined the ECA Review as a Local Journalism Initiative Journalist.

Stu earned his two-year diploma in print journalism from SAIT in Calgary from 1993 to ’95 and was raised in Oyen, Alta., one of the communities within the ECA Review’s coverage area.