Alberta Beef Producers delegate elections results

Official counting of the ballots took place Thur., Nov. 12 and Zones three, four, five, six and eight had elections, with the remaining four zones electing delegates by acclamation.

Elections took place during the Alberta Beef Producers (ABP) meetings held across Alberta in October and November.

Zones four, six and seven have vacancies.

Below is a list of all ABP delegates in the east central Alberta region for the 2015/16 year.

The names with an asterix represent delegates who were elected, acclaimed or appointed during this election.

Zone 1: Brodie Haugan, Orion; Garth Porteous, Bow Island; Brad Osadczuk, Jenner; *Kevin Stopanski, Jenner; *Rick Friesen, Vauxhall and *Howard Bekkering, Vauxhall;

Zone Four: Walter Suntjens, Hanna; *Judy Fenton, Irma; *Tim Smith, Coronation; *Mark Crowle, Hanna and Craig Ference, Kirriemuir

Zone Five: Rob Somerville, Endiang; Kelly Fraser, Red Deer County; *Cam McLerie, Red Deer County; *Dick Wymenga, Leslieville; *Stuart Somerville, Endiang and *Charles Christie, Trochu

Zone Six: Assar Grinde, Bluffton; *Ralph Buhler, Armena; *Tim Sekura, Rocky Rapids; *Kolton Kasur, Bashaw and Cecil Anderson, Drayton Valley.

“We were happy with the high voter turnout for elections in five zones and welcome the strong new delegates joining us this year.

We encourage producers to get involved and fill the positions we still have available. We look forward to the fresh input new representatives offer and thank them for their interest in the industry and ABP,” said Rich Smith, ABP Executive Director.

ABP represents the collective interests of Alberta’s beef cattle producers and is a proud reflection of this industry. Run by producers for producers, it is dedicated to enhancing the image of the beef and beef producers industry, educating the beef consumer, driving the sale of Alberta Beef, and maintaining a truly sustainable, competitive industry for the benefit of all Albertans.

About the author




* indicates required