4-H public speaking competition winners

Presenters at the Stettler 4-H District competition on March 6, 2024 included, from the left, back row: Desmond Fahey, Haylee Weatherly, Kayl Hankins and Rylee Charbonneau; middle row: Kesler Watts, Dryton Haustein, Aryann Haustein and Cole Charbonneau and in front, Brielle Sorensen. ECA Review/Submitted 
Written by User Submitted

by Amanda Haustein , District president 

Stettler District 4-H Public Speaking event was  held on March 14, 2024 at the Wm.E.Hay School in Stettler.

The top 2 speakers from each club advanced to be able to participate in the District competition.
Junior speakers were Wade Rausch and Tulsa Smith (Byemoor Beef); Charlie Rowledge and Bennett Rowledge (Erskine Beef); Easton Walstrom and Kyle Charles (Big  Knife Beef); and Nash Sorensen and Joanne Nemetz (Big Valley Beef).

Intermediate speakers were Alerie Sorensen and Kesler Watts (Byemoor Beef); Branson Chapman and Luke Henderson (Erskine Beef); Kate Chapman and Maysa Hankins (Silver Stars);  Hayley Walgenbach and Ethan McPhee (Big Knife Beef); Gracie Pybus and Miley Pybus (Big Valley Beef).
Senior speakers were Shaylee Hunt (East Central Rustlers); Jayden Charles (Big Knife Beef); Peyton Lyke and Sam McNeill (Big Valley Beef); Jayna Weatherly and Megan Schrijver (Silver Stars).

Junior judges were Mackenzie Hankins, Sherri Morrison, Brydelle Wardley, Chris Simeniuk, Christa Cornelson, Cally Strandquist and the room judge was April Aspden.
Intermediate judges were Laurel Pole, Tana Nixon, Edith Jones, Darren Arbeau, Jacob Stynsky and Dawn Fryer with Melody Swaren as the room judge.

Senior Judges were James Nibourg, Junae Arnfinson, Leah Simenuik, Faith Shuckburgh, Chris Raab and Rhonda Maginn with Lona Benjamin as the room judge.

The emcees for each of the rooms were Brooklynn Smith, Denver Shaw and Aryann Haustein.

The top two speakers in each category advanced to represent the East Central District at Regional Public Speaking, March 24 in Morrin, Alta.

District winners
District Junior winners were: 1st – Tulsa Smith (Byemoor Beef), 2nd- Nash Sorensen (Big Valley Beef), 3rd- Kyle Charles (Big Knife Beef).

District Intermediate winners were: 1st – Ethan McPhee (Big Knife Beef), 2nd – Alerie Sorensen (Byemoor Beef), 3rd – Gracie Pybus (Big Valley Beef).

District Senior winners were: 1st – Peyton Lyke (Big Valley Beef), 2nd – Sam McNeill (Big Valley Beef), 3rd – Shaylee Hunt (East Central Rustlers).

Presentation competition
The Stettler 4-H District held their annual presentation competition on March 6, 2024 at the Wm.E.Hay School in Stettler with judges Kelly Thompson, Geri Slemp, Guy Neitz, Celine Rajewski, Chelsey Murat, and Chelsea Damberger.

Junior presenters were Cole Charbonneau and Brielle Sorensen both from the Byemoor 4-H Beef Club.
Intermediate presenters were Kesler Watts (Silver Stars), Rylee Charbonneau and Colter Buchwitz (Byemoor Beef), Dryton Haustein (Erskine Beef) and Desmond Fahey (Big Valley Beef).

Senior presenters were Haylee Weatherly and Kayl Hankins (Silver Stars) and Aryann Haustein (Erskine Beef).

The top two presenters in each category advanced to represent their club and District at the Regional Presentation competition in Lougheed, Alta. on March 23.

The winners were:
Juniors:1st – Brielle Sorensen (Byemoor Beef), 2nd – Cole Charbonneau (Byemoor Beef).
Intermediates: 1st – Dryton Haustein (Erskine Beef), 2nd – Rylee Charbonneau (Byemoor Beef).
Seniors: 1st – Aryann Haustein (Erskine Beef), 2nd – Kayl Hankins (Silver Stars).

Provincial competition
Aryann Haustein placed second at the Regional competition advancing to represent the Erskine Beef Club, the Stettler District and the East Central Region at the Provincial Competition in Olds, Alta. on April 6.

About the author

User Submitted